State Possession Of Marijuana Charges
Charges related to marijuana (pot) possession are affected by a number of factors, including the amount of marijuana, intent to sell marijuana, location of the arrest and many other factors. These factors can amplify the severity of the punishment you face upon conviction.
At Conaway & Strickler, P.C., our experienced defense attorneys provide comprehensive legal representation that addresses every issue our clients face in relation to a marijuana charge. We fight for the dismissal of charges, acquittals and reduction of the criminal charges. We handle a variety of case types, and we excel in highly consequential cases involving large volumes of marijuana and extensive growing and distribution operations.
Our Atlanta-based marijuana possession defense attorneys are well-versed in marijuana possession cases and all other cases involving drug offenses. Our long history of success in these matters has led to recognition as a premier criminal defense firm serving clients in Georgia and throughout the country.
Marijuana Charges In Georgia
There are various types of charges that can result if you are arrested while in possession of marijuana in Georgia, including:
- Misdemeanor possession of marijuana: Alleged possession of one ounce or less of marijuana. Conviction can result in up to one year of jail time and up to $1,000 in fines.
- Felony possession of marijuana: Possession of more than one ounce of marijuana will invoke a felony charge, and you will face a minimum of one year and up to 10 years in prison. Conviction of a felony remains on your permanent criminal record for the rest of your life. It substantially reduces future job, loan, housing and educational opportunities, and your voting and firearm possession rights will be impacted.
- Possession of marijuana with intent to sell or distribute: Also a felony, possession with intent to sell or distribute marijuana carries mandatory prison time up to 10 years. If more than 10 pounds of marijuana are involved, or if the offense occurred within 1,000 feet of a school, drug-free zone or other property defined by state statute, even harsher penalties will be pursued by prosecutors.
Any conviction for marijuana possession or any other drug offense will give you a criminal record that can haunt you for years, if not the rest of your life.